Season 4 of Poldark aired last night on BBC1, with Nick Dance BSC behind the Lens for the entire series.

Directed by Joss Agnew & starring Aidan Turner as the inimitable Poldark, writer Debbie Horsfield says Season 4 will draw on the final third of Winston Graham’s sixth Poldark book The Four Swans and all of book seven, The Angry Tide.

The action of series four will run until the Christmas period of 1799. The next book – The Stranger from the Sea, which is the eighth in the series of 12 – starts in 1810, a leap of more than ten years. This will be the start of series five, which revealed is expected to be the final series of the show.