Director of Photography benmagahy.com


Drama includes the feature teaser Offbeat, directed by Arnos Salters, installation Hate & Hope directed by Iain Forsyth & Jane Pollard and featuring George Mackay for Sheffield Doc/Fest. Short films include Burial directed by Georgia Lee & Hannah Daniels, produced through the Welsh Film Board, Glance directed by Conkerco and Grounds directed by Phoebe Torrance. Ben has also worked on a series of documentaries with music as the central theme, notably Music Liberates Music with directors Iain Forsyth & Jane Pollard, and Mumford & Sons’ Gentleman of the Road. He has been twice nominated for Best Cinematography at the British Arrows Craft Awards, and has also been nominated at the MTV VMAs.



LIFE (Block 1 – Lead Cinematographer)
Prod. Drama Republic
Dir. Iain Forsythe & Jane Pollard

BOYZ IN THE WOOD (Main Unit Pick Up Days 2018)
Prod. Sigma Films
Dir. Ninian Doff
World Premiere: SXSW 2019
Winner: Audience Award ‘Midnighters’ SXSW 2019
Official Selection / Opening Night Gala: Edinburgh Int’l Film Festival 2019
Winner – Siren Award for Best Feature: Lund Int’l Fantastic Film Festival 2019
Official Selection: Vancouver Int’l Film Festival 2019
Official Selection: Sitges Film Festival 2019
Nomination: Douglas Hickox Award (Debut Director) – BIFA 2019

Prod. Big Balls
Dir. Gavin Rowe
Nomination: BAFTA Best Creative Interactive Contribution (2010)



Prod. 1915 Productions Ltd.
Dir. Georgia Lee & Hannah Daniels

Prod. Glen Kirby
Dir. Phoebe Torrance
Winner: Best Drama – Dublin International Film Festival 2019

HATE & HOPE – Artist Film Installation for Sheffield Doc Fest 2018
Featuring George Mackay
Prod. Phantoscopic
Dir. Iain Forsyth & Jane Pollard

OFFBEAT (Feature Teaser Trail)
Prod. WigWam
Dir. Arnos Salters

Prod. Film London
Dir. Ashish Ghadaili

Prod. Academy Films
Dir. Conkerco



MUSIC LIBERATES MUSIC (BACARDI on location in Jamaica)
Prod. Phantoscopic
Dir. Iain & Jane

Prod. Vice

Prod. Pulse
Dir. Fred & Nick

Prod. Simon Owens
Dir. Simon Owens




Bacardi: Music Liberates,Phantoscopic,Iain & Jane – 3x Bronze Lion: Cannes Lions 2018 (Social & Influencer – Food & Drink / Partnerships / Sponsorship & Brand Partnership)
Bacardi: Music Liberates,Phantoscopic,Iain & Jane – Winner Wood Pencil: D&AD Awards 2018
ITV Horse Racing,ITV,Trent Jaklitsch – Nomination: Best Cinematography British Arrows Craft Awards 2017
San Miguel,Squire,Michelle Coomber – Nomination: Best Cinematography British Arrows Craft Awards 2016
England Cricket: Tour of India,Sky,Wes Forbes – Winner: Best Live Sports Game Campaign: Promax BDA (EU) 2013


SELECTED COMMERCIALS 2015 / 2016 / 2017 / 2018 / 2019

Heart FM Pulse Ninian Doff
Great Anglia Railway Nexus Alex Courtes
Strayer Smuggler Stylewar
Sprite Blink Johnny & Will
Ikea Stink Greg Brunkalla
Dove Caviar Arno Salters
Barclaycard Passion Pictures Anna Ginsberg
Huawei 1st Avenue Machine Tim Brown
Barclaycard Passion Anna Ginsberg
Dove Caviar Lucy Luscombe
Energia Butter Arno Salters
Think! Smuggler Stylewar
Timberland Stink Giorgio Bruni
Mattress Firm Smuggler Stylewar
Cadbury's Academy Conkerco
Talk Talk 1st Avenue Machine Ubik
Optrex 1st Avenue Machine Morgan Harary
Lotto Pulse John Dower
Grand National ITV James Adamson
Speckled Hen MPC Josh Stocker
Apple Music Caviar Tom Ralph
Lotto Pulse John Dower
Chubb 1st Avenue Machine Tim Brown & Anthony Dickenson
Bacardi: Music Liberates Phantoscopic Iain & Jane
Sainsbury's Strange Beast Tubby Brothers
McDonald's Tantrum Jake Mavity
Bulmers Moxie Neil Gorringe
Hop House 13 Pulse John Dower
Apple Music Ewen Spencer My Accomplice
Virgin Media Rattling Stick Sara Dunlop
Renault Hobby Film Oskar Bard
Fujitsu The Sweet Shop Ben Dawkins
Braun Smuggler Tristan Patterson
Lions Rugby Sky Ed Mallin
Holiday Inn The Sweet Shop James Haworth
Sky Academy Conkerco
PayPal Agile Films Price James
Post Office Stink Agustin Alberdi
Samsung Hobbyfilm Oskar Bard
F1 Sky Jack Salmon
Boots Pulse Nick Davies
RBS Academy Conkerco
Unibet Kream Ben Dawkins
Asus The Sweet Shop Andrew Lang
SSE Academy Conkerco
Kerry Gold Pulse Ian Bonhote
Giff Gaff: Halloween Riff Raff Tom Gainsford
Sky Sports News Sky Jack Salmon



Anthony Dickenson: RBS / Nike / Independent / Last Minute
Anthony Shurmer: Ultimo
Ben Sedley: Marmite
Conkerco: Emirates / COI (Royal Navy) / McDonald’s / TCP / Coca-Cola / Homebase / Travelodge / Vision Express / Ikea
Ed Malliin: Olympic Torch
Fred & Nick: Barclays / Prime Location / Yorkshire Tea
Gavin Rowe: Yazoo / Nokia / Oakley
Grant Berry & Hywel Williams: Blackberry Idents
Guys Salsby: Nike
Hywel Williams: Blackberry
Jacques Salmon: Sky Sports
James Day: The Short Film Festival
Joe Windsor: Volvo
Jon & Nicole: Lucky Mans
Jon Grint: Formula 1
Julian Rocher: Infiniti
Kim Geldenhuys: Dove / Ford
Lewis Georgeson : Iamplayer.com
Luke & Gav: Air New Zealand
Luke Taylor: Welsh Tourist Board / Johnnie Walker
Martin Jones: Range Rover
Nicole Poppy: Ashes
Ninian Doff: Cadbury’s
Oliver Elmes: Samsung
Paul Gardner: Plan B
Si & Ad: Durex
Steve Jamieson & Mike Brett: ARD/ ZDF / Nike
Tubby Brother: Telstra
US: Asda




Rudimental dir I Owe Youth – Showcased at SXSW 2016
London Grammar: Hey Now dir Chris Ullens – Anča Awards 2015 Winner: Music Video Award
Mumford and Sons: Little Lion Man dir Fred & Nick – MTV VMAs 2010: Nomination for Best Cinematographer
Mumford and Sons: The Cave dir Fred & Nick – MTV VMAs 2011: Nomination for Best Rock Video


SELECTED PROMOS 2016 / 2017 / 2018 / 2019

Elena Iain & Jane Pretty Bird
Calvin Harris ft Dua Lipa Ammolite Emil Nava
Sam Smith Riff Raff Luke Monaghan
Neiked Emote Films Markus Lundquist
San Halo Friend Greg & Lio
Foals Academy Nabil
Years & Years Caviar Ollie Wolf
Circa Waves Academy Niall O'Brien
JP Cooper Good Egg Arni & Kinksi
San Holo Friend Greg & Lio
Neiked Emote Films Markus Lundquist



Alex Rutterford: Maximo Park
Alex Southern: Kodaline
Chris Cairns: The Cribs
D.A.R.Y.L: Die! Die! Die! / The Subways
FKA Twigs: FKA Twigs
Fred & Nick: Mumford and Sons / Laura Marling / James Morrison / The Maccabees
Georgie Curran & Adriano Vilanova: WSTRN
Giorgio Testi: The Paddingtons
Ian Bonhote: Kassidy
Matt Kirkby: Basement Jaxx
Nabil: Alt-J
Nima Nourizadeh: Jamie T / Lady Soverign / Architecture in Helsinki / Art Brut
US: Wiley / Labrinth